Access Bank
Quick Gist

Wike Recalls 4 Commissioners, Others Suspended

Rivers State Governor, Chief Ezebunwo Nyesom Wike has recall four commissioners and two other top government functionaries who were slammed with three months suspension.
The recalled commissioners include, Dr John Bazia, Chieftaincy Affairs; Mrs Tonye Briggs-Oniyide; Culture and Tourism; Dr Fred Kpakol, Finance and Mr Boma Iyaye; Sports.
Wike, in a statement issued in Port Harcourt yesterday by his special assistant on Electronic Media, Simeon Nwakaudu, also recalled the Head of Service, Mr Rufus Godwin and Mr Anugbum Onuoha, Special Adviser on Lands.
The governor however did not give reasons why he recalled the top government functionaries who were suspended on August 31, 2016.
In a related development, Governor Ezebunwo Nyesom Wike has approved the constitution of the State Advisory Committee on the Prerogative of Mercy with the Attorney General and Commissioner of Justice, Mr. Emmanuel Aguma, SAN, as chairman.
He appointed Professor Israel Worugji, Dr. Bob Yellow, Venerable Alex Usifo, Dr. Mrs. Ngozi Ordu, Professor John Ikimalo, Hon. Glory Chukwu and Barrister Alu Long-John as members.
The governor, in a statement issued in Port Harcourt by his media aide, Nwakaudu, appointed the Director of Public Prosecution (DPP) in the state as the secretary of the committee.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *