PDP Primary: Osagie Ize-Iyamu Picks Edo Gubernatorial Ticket

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) primary election to decide who to run for the next governor of Edo state was won by Mr. Osagie Ize-Iyamu.

Mr. Osagie Ize-Iyamu
Mr. Osagie Ize-Iyamu

The election that saw the opposition party declaring Iyamu the next aspirant for the state governorship poll on September 10 was held on Monday at the Lawn Tennis Court of the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City, the Edo State capital in south-south Nigeria.
The victor won a total of 584 votes to emerge winner, beating his closest rival, Mr Matthew Iduoriyekemwen, who scored 91 votes to take the second place and second runner-up, Mr Solomon Edebiri scored 38 votes.
Meanwhile, Mr Godwin Obaseki on Sunday picked the governorship ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC), after beating other candidates at the primaries in Benin City, the Edo State’s capital.
Mr Obaseki polled 1,618 votes to defeat the incumbent Deputy Governor, Pius Odubu, who scored 471 votes, and a former Minister of State for Works, Chris Ogiemwonyi, who got 137 votes amongst others.
The PDP Primary Election Committee was chaired by the Governor of Ebonyi State, Dave Umehi.
Statutory delegates started the process after which others took their turns.
Governor Umehi had appealed to all the delegates to be orderly, stressing the need to end the process on time.

Access More with Access Bank

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *