Access Bank
Quick Gist

Osinbajo Sends Magu’s Name To Senate For Confirmation As EFCC Chairman

Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo has sent to the senate, name of the acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, Ibrahim Mustapha Magu, an Assistant Commissioner of Police, ACP for screening and subsequent confirmation as the substantive Chairman of the anti- graft agency.

VP, Osinbajo
VP, Osinbajo

In a letter which was read on Thursday at Senate Plenary by the Senate President, Senator Bukola Saraki, President Buhari also sought the Senate’s approval of Nasule Moses; Lawan Maman; Garandaji Imam Naji- and Adeleke Abebayo Rafiu to be confirmed as members of the board of the crime fighter body.
The letter which was signed by Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo as Acting President, read, “The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) Act of 2004 established the commission and makes it responsible among other things for the coordination and enforcement of all Economic and Financial Crime Laws and Enforcement functions conferred on any person or authority.
“Section 2 (1) of the Act also provides that the Commission shall consists of a Chairman who shall: Be the chief executive and accounting officer of the commission; Be a serving or retired member of any government security or law enforcement agency not below the rank of assistant commissioner of police or equivalent and Possess not less than 15 years cognate experience. “Apart from other ex-officio members of the commission provided for in section 2. The Act also provides for four eminent Nigerians with any cognate experience of the following that is finance, banking, law and accounting. Section 2 (3) further provides that chairman and members of his commission other than ex-officio members shall be appointed by the president and the appointment shall be subject to confirmation of the senate.
“Section 3 of the Act provides that the chairman and members of the commission other than the ex-officio members shall hold office for a period of four years and maybe reappointed for further term of four years and no more.
“In view of the following, I hereby draw your excellency’s attention to the vacancy that existed in the EFCC. Having carefully considered eminently suitable qualified Nigerians for the vacant position. I am pleased to inform you of the appointment of the following and to propose them for confirmation of the Senate as provided by the EFCC Act.
1.Magu Ibrahim Mustapha, ACP- Chairman
2. Nasule Moses- Member
3. Lawan Maman- Member
4. Garandaji Imam Naji- Member
5.Adeleke Abebayo Rafiu-Member.
“The curriculum vitae of the appointee are attached for the information of the distinguished senators. I hope the screening will as usual be carried out expeditiously by the distinguished senate.
“Please accept the assurances of my highest regards.
Professor Yemi Osinbajo Acting President”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also