NSA: Moses battles Odey, Okpoto for Footballer of the Year Award


Super Eagles and Chelsea of England star Victor Moses is among the final nominees for Footballer of the Year Award. Moses will contest for the coveted award with former Mountain of Fire Football Club goal machine, Stephen Odey and NPFL highest goalscorer in the just-concluded season Anthony Okpotu who plies his trade with Lobi Stars of Gboko.

In other categories announced by the organisers of the Nigerian Sports Award, Asisat Oshoala was among the nominees for the Woman Footballer of the Year. Others in this category include Ebi Onome of the Super Falcons and Rasheedat Ajibade of the Falconets.
There were also nominees for Ball sports Personality of the year, Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year,Sports Governor of the Year and Team of the Year.
Chairman of the newly reconstituted Award Panel of the Nigerian Sports Award, Kweku Tandoh who was highly excited about the response of the public to the forthcoming awards ceremony billed for November 17, said it was a delight that the award is moving a notch higher considering the attraction it was getting year in year out. Voting for the nominees end on November 17.
According to Tandoh, this year’s award would be in 16 categories that include Discovery of the year. Some of the nominees include Akuh Purity, Kennedy Boboye and Sam Vincent who will be competing for the Coach of the Year. While the likes of Aruna Quadri, Ike Diogu and Evelyn Akhator make up the three finalists for Ball Sports of the Year.
Governors Akinwunmi Ambode and Emmanuel Udom of Lagos and Akwa Ibom States will battle for the Sports Governor of the Year Award.
The award ceremony has been fixed for November 17 at the Eko Hotel and Suites on Victoria Island.

Access More with Access Bank

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *