Access Bank

Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Diamond Platnumz, Yemi Alade, Olamide, Davido other music stars for AFRIMA 2015 in Lagos

Sarkodie-1In celebration of African music and culture, the All Africa Music Awards
(AFRIMA) in league with the Africa Union Commission (AUC) has announced
AFRIMA 2015 nominees and the multiple award-winning male choral group
from South Africa, Ladysmith Black Mambazo to lead the invasion of over
one hundred and sixty two (162) African superstars who have confirmed
attendance to the 2015 AFRIMA Awards slated for Sunday, November 15 at
Eko Convention Centre, Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.
Ladysmith is arguably the most decorated male group in Africa, having
won multiple awards including four Grammys in 1988, 2004, 2009 and 2013
respectively. Formed by Joseph Shabalala in 1960, the group had been
singing together since the early 1950s. However, it was Ladysmith Black
Mambazo’s collaboration with Paul Simon in 1986 for the Graceland album
that brought it the much needed international acclaim.
Yemi AladeDavido
Confirming their performance at AFRIMA Awards, band’s manager, Majozi
Christopher Zolisile, stated: “AFRIMA 2015 will be staged in November
which coincidentally is the month for Ladysmith Black Mambazo’s 55th
anniversary. It will be amazing and electrifying to perform on a big
stage like All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) 2015 in Nigeria. We are
looking forward to it.”

Other artistes billed to perform at the award ceremony include Yemi
Alade from Nigeria, who broke records with her hit single, ‘Johnny’ in
2013. Her counterpart from Cameroon, Charlotte Dipanda, an Afro pop
singer, who has worked with Congolese singer, Papa Wemba and provided
background vocals for Manu Dibango,  Rokia Traore and Axelle Red will
also grace the AFRIMA stage. The duo of Diamond Platnumz, a Bongo Flava
recording artist and dancer from Tanzania and Olamide from Nigeria will
set the stage on fire at the AFRIMA 2015. Both have won numerous awards.
Vanessa MdeeAlikiba
Other artistes and nominees that that have confirmed attendance from
Eastern Africa include Vanessa Mdee, Bebe Cool, Tsedenia, Alikiba, H_Art
the Band, Dr. Jose Chameleone, Danny Kalima, Makadem, Lilian Mbabazi,
Sauti Sol, Cindy, Lulu & the Zakaleo Band, Liron, Suzanna Owiyo, Ben
Pol, THT, and Teddy Afro.

 From Southern Africa are top acts like AKA, Busiswa, Amantle, Cindy
Munyavi, Gazza, Blade Deep/Delura, The Soil, Kunle Ayo, Cassper Nyovest,
and KO while representing Central Africa are Awilo Logomba, Stanley
Enow, Charlotte Dipanda, NG Bling, Jovi, Daphne, M’vula, Betty Akna,
Mani Bella, Featurist, Vumomse, Missy BK, and DJ Malvado.

Confirming attendance from West Africa region are Sarkodie, Stoneboy,
Toofan, Kiff No Beat, Dark Suburb “The Skeleton”, DJ Arafat, Wiyaala,
Sekou Kouyate, Gangbe Brass Band etc. Representing the host, Nigeria
include Davido, Wizkid, P-Square, Timaya, Nneka, Flavour, Darey, Brymo,
Seyi Shay, Wande Coal, Praiz, Niyola, Patoranking, Adekunle Gold, Kiss
Daniel, Aramide, Timi Dakolo, and J. Martins among others.

The Central and Northern Africa regions’ delegates will be led by Awilo
Logomba, Stanley Enow, Charlotte Dipanda, NG Bling, Jovi, Daphne,
M’vula, Betty Akna, Mani Bella, Featurist, Vumomse, Missy BK, and DJ
Malvado, and Manal, Don Bigg, Monsif Jilali and Ahmed Soultan, Cheba
Sabrine, Alsarah, Souad Massi, Samira Said, Gabacho Maroconnection among

The 2015 AFRIMA Awards will be broadcast live to 84 countries on 109
television stations across the world with the support of AFRIMA media

Access More with Access Bank

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *