Access Bank

Buhari Seeks Senate Confirmation of INEC, NPC Commissioners

President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday forwarded to the senate names of nominees for the positions of national commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and the National Population Commission (NPC).


The Senate President, Bukola Saraki, read President Buhari’s letters conveying the nominations.
Mr. Buhari also sent another letter inviting the Senators to attend the launching of a book written about him in October.
For INEC, six persons were nominated from the six geo-political zones.
The nominations came two days after the Senate passed a resolution asking the president to fill the vacant positions at the commission.
The Senate’s resolution on Tuesday followed a motion by the Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, who also said there were no Resident Electoral Commissioners in about 20 states.
Those nominated for the positions of INEC national Commissioners are:
1. Okechukwu Ibeanu, a professor of political science and former Dean, Social Sciences, at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka from Anambra representing South East.
2. May I. Agbamuche-Mbu, a 1984 University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University) law graduate and member of Presidential Projects Assessment Commitee (2010-2011) from Delta State representing member South South.
3. Ahmed Tijani Mu’azu, a retired Air Vice Marshall from Gombe State representing North East.
4. Mohammed Haruna, a 65-year-old veteran journalist from Niger State representing North Central.
5. Adekunle Ogunmola, fomer provost of Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo, and Lagos State REC from Oyo State representing South West.
6. Abubakar Nahuche, an engineer with working experience at the Nigerian Army and the Nigerian Telecommunication Ltd as CEO (2007-2008), from Zamfara State representing North West).
The nominations had earlier been approved by the National Council of State.
Those nominated to serve as commissioners of the NPC are:
1. Benedict Ukpong, former deputy governorship of All Progressives Congress in Akwa Ibom State.
2. Gloria Izonfuo, a nurse and former head of civil service from Bayelsa State.
3. Kupchi Iyanya, a lawyer from Benue State.
4. Haliru Bala, a lecturer at the Kebbi State Polytechnic with Ph.D. from Obafemi Awolowo University, representing from Kebbi State.
5. Eyitayo Oyetunji, Ph.D. holder from Oyo State.
The names of the five NPC nominees were also approved by the Council of State.

Access More with Access Bank

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *