Access Bank

​Yadav, Hindahewa win Lagos International Badminton Classics

India’s Chittaboina Rahul Yadav and Sri Lanka’s Thilini Promodika Hindahewa at the weekend emerged winners in the men’s and women’s singles finals of the third Lagos International Badminton Classics held at the Molade Okoya-Thomas Hall of the Teslim Balogun Stadium.
Yadav defeated compatriot, Karan Rajan in two straight sets of 21-15 and 21-13 in the men’s event in an entertaining encounter, while Hindahewa beat India’s Mugdho Agrey also in two sets of 12-21 and 14-22 in the ladies’ cadre.
In the women’s double, Team Sri Lanka defeated the Indian pair in first set of 21-13 and made it again 21-19 in a keenly contested second game set.
Winners in the singles and double events in the men and women’s were rewarded with sums ranging from $650 to $2400.
Speaking at the occasion, the Special Guest of Honour, Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode, represented by his Special Adviser on Central Business District, Agboola Dabiri, said the hosting of the classics was borne out of state administration’s mandate to achieve tourism through sports.
According to him, sports is a vital tool used in promoting and showcasing its cultural heritage and to grow its economy in order to create employment for its talented citizens irrespective of their areas of operational gifts.
He assured that the state would put in all that is needed to ensure that Lagos hosts other competitions in a robust way,
The Special Adviser to the Governor on Sports and Chairman, Lagos State Sports Commission, Mr. Deji Tinubu, said the event was hosted to show that Lagos could give players a platform to thrive globally.
“This tournament is to show that we don’t need to hassle our players but we can bring the world here. We can make it happen in Lagos, We can create events here to expose them globally.”
The President of Badminton Federation and Chairman, Lagos Badminton Federation, Barrister Francis Orbih, commended players from all 11 countries represented, saying they have exhibited the spirit of good sportsmanship.
The competition was competed by Portugal, Togo, Ghana, Egypt, Sri Lanka, Jordan, India, Italy, Benin Republic, Uganda and host country Nigeria.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *