​Lagos CJ inaugurates election petition tribunal

Lagos state governor, Akinwumi Ambode queue before cast his vote during Lagos Council Poll yesterday.
The Chief Judge (CJ), Justice Oluwafunmilayo Atilade, has inaugurated two tribunals to look into complaints arising from the conduct of last Saturday’s local government election.
Speaking during the swearing-in ceremony of members of the tribunals at the conference room of the Ikeja High Court, Justice Atilade said the election remains inconclusive without providing a platform, as prescribed by the Electoral Law, for aggrieved parties or individuals to seek redress through seamless legal process.
She said members of the tribunal comprise men and women of proven integrity, who are vast in relevant laws and are sure to deliver on the assignment and give justice accordingly.
Justice Olateru Olagbegi was named Chairman of the first tribunal, with Mrs. F.O. Aigbokhavio, Miss Badejo Okunsanya, Mr. M.K.O. Fadeyi and Abdulazeez Jimoh as members.
Mrs. Folashade Adetiba chairs the second tribunal, with Mrs. D.T. Olatokun, Mr. A.A. Paul, Mrs. M.O. Olajuwon and Mr. O. Olaibi as members.
The chief judge charged the members to see their new task as a call to service and ensure that the oath of office remain their guide, as “people are watching; all eyes are on you.”
She admonished them to be wary of people, especially family members, school mates and church members, who at this time would be calling and texting them for favours with regards to their new duties.
Meanwhile, the National Chairman of the National Conscience Party (NCP) Dr. Tanko Yinusa has faulted the outcome of last week’s elections in Lagos. Speaking with The Guardian, he said, “The outcome of last Saturday’s is a systematic corruption against the people. When you benefit from a system that brought you in and then contradict the system, it is a corrupt practice.

Access More with Access Bank

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *